Lesson 1: Forbidden Robe
A lot of you people know the card Forbidden Robe. I'm sure a lot of you are planning on using it in your deck. Well let me tell you guys something. THE CARD SUCKS MONKEY BALLS! Many of you probably thin I am smoking pot or just plain crazy. WELL I'M NOT! This card was gonna be used to stop veiler's. It cant. Honestly people how dumb can you be. Allow me to post both effects below.
Forbidden Robe: Target 1 face-up monster on the field; Until the End Phase, it loses 600 ATK, but cards' effects cannot target or destroy it.
Effect Veiler: During your opponent's Main Phase: You can send this card from your hand to the Graveyard to target 1 face-up Effect monster your opponent controls; negate that target's effects until the End Phase.
If you do not know how to read that then let me break it down. Forbidden Robe is supposed to stop all targeting and destruction of the card. A good thing but no big deal. Veiler stops effects, everyone knows that. Now, here is how everyone thinks this goes. In my example I will use Rescue Rabbit, Forbidden Robe, and Effect Veiler.
Player A summons Rescue Rabbit, Player B has no response. Player A activates Rabbit's effect. Player B chains Effect Veiler. Player A chains Forbidden Robe. Although Rabbit has 0 Atk it is still on the field for the effect to activate. This is due to the fact being that Robe chains first and Veiler does not work.
THIS IS THE WRONG WAY! THAT IS INCORRECT RULINGS!
Now I will you show how it really goes down.
Player A summons Rescue Rabbit, Player B has no response. Player A activates Rabbit's eff, Player B chains Effect Veiler, Player A chains forbidden Robe. Rescue Rabbit stays on the field and loses 600 Atk putting it at 0 Atk.
Now many of you guys may be asking, well how does that happen. Allow me to put it into easy to understand terms. Because Effect Veiler TARGETS in hand, Forbidden robe wont work due to the fact being Veiler had already targeted.
There is your lesson of the day. Come tommorow to learn about more cards in this game.